logo
gfxgfx
 
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
 
gfx gfx
gfx
31780 Posts in 3396 Topics by 3263 Members - Latest Member: bellina mikael January 09, 2009, 09:11:04 PM
*
gfx*HomeHelpSearchHBS WEBSITELoginRegistergfx
gfxgfx
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.       « previous next »
Pages: [1] Go Down Send this topic Print
Author Topic: ebay scammer ?  (Read 318 times)
Erik vd Bosch
Gaffer
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
ebay scammer ?
« on: January 08, 2007, 06:59:52 PM »

im new here (first post but ive been reading the forum for some time ) but like to warn u about this

I keep finding this on ebay whith always an other email adres

http://cgi.ebay.nl/TIFFEN-STEADICAM-FLYER_W0QQitemZ270077300092QQihZ017QQcategoryZ46142QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem  (ad wil be removed by now)

using alwais the same pictures
looks like a scam (is a scam) always on the acount of an other power seller

this is the text from the auction

EASE READ CAREFULLY : I WILL ONLY SELL THROUGH BUY IT NOW, I WILL NOT SELL THROUGH THE BIDDING!!!

PLEASE CONTACT ME DIRECTLY AT xtremespts@yahoo.com  INSTEAD OF USING "ASK THE SELLER A QUESTION" AS YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE A RESPONSE!!

                The buy now price is 1000 GBP

Steadicam Flyer (complete):
Tiffen Steadicam Soft Case
Tiffen Steadicam Hard Case
Tiffen Steadicam Sled with Stage & "Dovetail Plate"
Tiffen Steadicam LCD Monitor
Tiffen Steadicam Flyer Arm
Tiffen Steadicam Flyer Vest
Tiffen Steadicam Flyer Stand
Tiffen Steadicam Training Video
2 each, 120 watt hour bricks
2 position charger

EASE READ CAREFULLY : I WILL ONLY SELL THROUGH BUY IT NOW, I WILL NOT SELL THROUGH THE BIDDING!!!

PLEASE CONTACT ME DIRECTLY AT xtremespts@yahoo.com  INSTEAD OF USING "ASK THE SELLER A QUESTION" AS YOU WILL NOT RECEIVE A RESPONSE!!

                The buy now price is 1000 GBP

* b0bd_1_b.jpg (23.72 KB - downloaded 69 times.)
* b2f3_1_sbl.jpg (13.12 KB - downloaded 70 times.)
* b5ba_1_sbl.jpg (17.28 KB - downloaded 70 times.)
* b5ba_1_sbl.jpg (17.28 KB - downloaded 69 times.)
Logged
Alan Dague-Greene
Director
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 596



View Profile
Re: ebay scammer ?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2007, 09:54:00 PM »

£1,000 is approximately $2,000 US. Less than one-third the cost of a new Flyer. This is most definitely a scam. It's so tempting to believe deals like these, but "too good to be true" is always the case. This isn't just another grey-market camera selling for 25% less than the real deal. This is a Steadicam selling for an impossibly low price.
Logged
David West
Director
****
Offline Offline

Posts: 276



View Profile
Re: ebay scammer ?
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2007, 12:24:41 AM »

there have been hundreds of those auctions in high priced photo gear.

the "scammmer/seller" phishes the account info,

then does a hundred auctions, all that end in 24 hours, and all that require you to respond directly to an email posted in the auction.

one way to tell is just to look at the other items that the  "seller" is offering... they will all have the same starting price and all end in 24 hours....

scamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscamscam

now, if we would all just flood their emails perhaps they would slow down...

i like to ask if local pickup is OK....     Grin

if they say yes, then i tell them great, i will have my brother-in-law pick it up... he works for interpol,,,,, then i never hear from them again...
Logged

.-.-.-.-.  aka felixdkat  .-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.-.
gfx
Pages: [1] Go Up Send this topic Print 
gfx
Jump to:  
gfx
The HBS Group | Powered by SMF 1.0.3.
© 2001-2005, Lewis Media. All Rights Reserved.

Fusedog Media Group
gfx
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!